Nursing News

Fourteen Nurses Named Fellows of the Academy of Emergency Nursing

  • Print Page

September 6, 2012 - The Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) has announced the 2012 inductees to the Academy of Emergency Nursing (AEN).  The AEN fellowship is a prestigious honor recognizing emergency nurses for their contributions to patient care in and out of the emergency department.
The Academy of Emergency Nursing was constituted on September 28, 2004, to honor nurses who have made specific, substantial, and enduring contributions to the field of emergency nursing; who advance the profession of emergency nursing, including the health care system in which emergency nursing is delivered; and who provide visionary leadership to the Emergency Nurses Association. The fellows will be honored on September 15 at ENA’s Annual Convention in San Diego.
“Each year, we honor outstanding emergency nurses by inducting them into the Academy of Emergency Nursing,” said Gail Lenehan, EdD, MSN, RN, FAEN, FAAN, 2012 president of the Emergency Nurses Association. “Fellows in the Academy represent the best of the best and have provided invaluable groundbreaking leadership in emergency nursing.  Their dedication to their patients and their colleagues is inspirational.”
The 2012 Academy of Emergency Nursing inductees are:
Meredith Jaye Addison, MSN, RN, CEN, Hillsdale, IN
Staff Nurse, Regional Hospital (HCA facility) - Terre Haute, IN
Rita T. Anderson, RN, CEN, Surprise, AZ
Clinical Coordinator, North Peoria Emergency Center - Peoria, AZ
Audrey Elizabeth Cloughessy, AM, MHM, RN,Glenwood, NSW, Australia
Executive Director, Australian College of Emergency Nursing               
Christine M. Gisness, MSN, RN, BC, FNP-C, CEN, Roswell, GA
Nurse Practitioner, Associate Provider, Emory University, Dept. of Emergency Medicine, Grady Memorial Hospital - Atlanta, GA
Diane Gurney, MS, RN, CEN, Hyannis, MA
Emergency Nurse Education Professional and Consultant - Hyannis, MA
Andrew D. Harding, MS, RN, CEN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAHA, Bridgewater, MA
Director of Clinical Operations, Southcoast Hospitals Group - New Bedford, MA
Cindy L. Hearrell, MSN, RN, CEN, Fredericksburg, VA
Quality Coordinator, Mary Washington Hospital - Fredericksburg, VA
J. Jeffery Jordan, MS, RN, MBA, CEN, CNE, EMT-P, Macomb, OK
RN to BSN Coordinator/Instructor, East Central University - Ada, OK
Fred Neis, MS, RN, FACHE, FAEN, CEN, Prairie Village, KS  
Principal, The Advisory Board Company - Washington, D.C.
India J. Taylor Owens, MSN, RN, CEN, NE-BC, Fairland, IN
Director Emergency Services, Franciscan St. Francis Health – Indianapolis, IN
Gwyn Parris-Atwell, MSN, RN, FNP-BC, CS, CEN, Alloway, NJ
Chief Nurse Executive, 514th Aerospace Medicine Squadron, Joint Base McGuire Dix – Lakehurst, NJ; and Nurse Practitioner, South Jersey Healthcare, Occupational Medicine Combatant Sports Division - Bridgeton, NJ
Judith A. Scott, MHA, BSN, RN, PHN, Penn Valley, CA
Paula Tanabe, PhD, MPH, MSN, RN,  Durham, NC
Associate Professor of Nursing and Medicine, Sickle Cell Disease Clinical Nurse Specialist, Duke University - Durham, NC
Mary Ann Teeter, MEd, RN, FNP-C, CEN, CNRN, Elmira, NY
Stroke Coordinator and Nurse Practitioner, Arnot Ogden Medical Center - Elmira, NY

Source: Emergency Nurses Association,